Wednesday, August 1, 2018

True-Blue Cowboy by Sara Richardson

Title: True-Blue Cowboy
Author: Sara Richardson
My Rating: B

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series: Rocky Mountain Riders #4
Main Characters: Everly and Mateo
Release Date: August 2018
Publisher: Forever
Links to Purchase
Sexual Intensity: spicy

Story Overview:
In the tradition of Carolyn Brown, Jennifer Ryan, and Maisey Yates comes the fourth book in Sara Richardson's western contemporary romance series about sexy bull-riders.

Can this cowboy be tamed?

Everly Brooks is finally living her dream. Renting a farm in Topaz Falls, Colorado, is the perfect antidote to her high-stress life back in San Francisco. It's the ideal place to raise chickens, grow veggies, and run her farm-to-table restaurant. There's just one problem: her new landlord. Mateo Torres is a handsome-as-hell bronc rider who oozes charm, melts hearts-and plans to kick Everly off the farm . . .

Mateo has dreams, too. He'd bought that land as an investment, so he could take care of his mom and sisters, which means Everly has to go. Unfortunately for him, this former big-city girl is just as stubborn as the broncs he rides. When his trailer floods and forces him to move into Everly's farmhouse, things between them really start to heat up. Sure, living under the same roof might not be the best way to settle their dispute over the land. But when two rivals share everything-from heated words to scorching kisses-it's definitely the hottest.


My Review:
This was my first time reading this author. She has an easy to read style and there were some cute aspects to this story. 

Everly used to be a lawyer, but now she runs a farm and small diner. But she rents both. She hopes to someday be able to buy it. Before she gets the chance, Mateo buys it as an investment property. He can turn over a good profit by selling the land to a condo developer. Knowing Everly's career history, he assumed that the farm is a passing hobby for her and that soon she'll want to go back to her real life. He couldn't be more wrong. 

Of course when two characters are at such extreme odds, you know there's going to be a strong attraction between them. And that's exactly what happened here. They truly like and could mean a lot to one another. The problem is they are at a massive impasse. Everly is living her dream. Mateo needs the money from the investor to ensure his future. Mateo is a rodeo bronc rider. That career doesn't last forever. He has to have a backup plan. He's also trying to get his family out of Mexico, which also takes money.

I especially enjoyed the glimpse into the farm and restaurant that Everly has created. For her, the community means everything and her ability to offer benefits back to the community means everything. I really liked that aspect of the story.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher as a gift.

No comments: