Monday, October 16, 2017

Save a Truck, Ride a Redneck by Molly Harper

Title: Save a Truck, Ride a Redneck
Author: Molly Harper
My Rating: A+

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series: Southern Eclectic #.5
Main Characters: Carl and Marianne
Release Date: October 2017
Publisher: Pocket Star
Links to Purchase
Sexual Intensity: hot

Story Overview:
Molly Harper brings her signature “clever humor, snark, silliness, and endearing protagonists” (Booklist) to the charming small town of Lake Sackett, Georgia with the new Southern Eclectic series.

Carl and Marianne were high school sweethearts, loving the way only teenagers can—with no thought to logic or pride, just a bone-headed, optimistic frenzy of unicorns and hormones. That was all they needed. Or so Carl thought.

Scared of being stuck in Lake Sackett, Georgia, like so many of her friends—without a real shot at a future or achieving her own dreams—Marianne panicked and bolted to college after stomping Carl’s heart into the high grass. But when she returns to Lake Sackett for the summer with her family after years away, she and Carl are drawn together like moths to a flame. As they rekindle their old romance and remember what it was like to be in love, they have to wonder: is this, finally, their real chance at happiness?

Perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert, this warmhearted and witty love story introduces Molly Harper’s new Southern Eclectic series set in the small town of Lake Sackett, Georgia. This story about second chances proves that “Molly Harper never lets the reader down with her delightfully entertaining stories. Humor, emotions, and romance are cleverly matched, and her likable characters are most appealing” 


My Review:
OMG, if this is a preview of how good this series is going to be, I'm completely on board as an auto-buy for this series.

This is a second chance at love story. Four years ago, Marianne went to college and broke up with Carl right before she left, breaking his heart. Now she's home for the summer before she heads off to law school and seeing Carl for the first time in four years...and it's not easy. 

The entire story is told from Marianne's POV, so it's hard to know exactly what Carl is thinking and feeling, especially at first. But he's a good guy...that's obvious from the very first when he probably should be at least slightly abrupt with Marianne...she left him in the worst way and completely blindsided him with their breakup. He thought they were going to do the long distance thing. He never planned on holding her back from her dreams, so that's why it took him by surprise so much. 

But they are awesome now. It takes a while to get around the leftover wariness of one another from before, but the dance and the chemistry is amazing. I loved them together and all the little details of this town and Marianne's family and how Carl fits into that. 

I've always loved Molly Harper's paranormal series, but didn't know how that would translate to contemporary stories. The good news is that it translates amazingly well. I couldn't have loved this story anymore and am so excited that it's kicking off a whole new series. I'm ready. Bring on the rest of the books. My one-click finger is ready!

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

No comments: