Wednesday, May 17, 2017

The Simplicity of Cider by Amy E. Reichert

Title: The Simplicity of Cider
Author: Amy E. Reichert
My Rating: B-

Genre: Women's Fiction
Series
Main Characters: Isaac and Sanna
Release Date: May 2017
Publisher:  Gallery
Links to Purchase:
Sexual Intensity: mild

Story Overview:
Fall in love with The Simplicity of Cider, the charming new novel about a prickly but gifted cider-maker whose quiet life is interrupted by the arrival of a handsome man and his young son at her family’s careworn orchard by the author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and Luck, Love & Lemon Pie.

Focused and unassuming fifth generation cider-maker Sanna Lund has one desire: to live a simple, quiet life on her family’s apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin. Although her business is struggling, Sanna remains fiercely devoted to the orchard, despite her brother’s attempts to convince their aging father to sell the land.

Single dad Isaac Banks has spent years trying to shield his son Sebastian from his troubled mother. Fleeing heartbreak at home, Isaac packed up their lives and the two headed out on an adventure, driving across the country. Chance—or fate—led them straight to Sanna’s orchard.

Isaac’s helping hands are much appreciated at the apple farm, even more when Sanna’s father is injured in an accident. As Sanna’s formerly simple life becomes increasingly complicated, she finds solace in unexpected places—friendship with young Sebastian and something more deliciously complex with Isaac—until an outside threat infiltrates the farm.

From the warm and funny Amy E. Reichert, The Simplicity of Cider is a charming love story with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Gayle Forman.


My Review:
I think this was a case of "it's not you, it's me." I just was never able to really connect with this book, although there were things about it that I really loved. I just couldn't ever connect with the heroine, Sanna, and that made it almost impossible to care about any of the story. She's described as a prickly person, which normally I don't have an issue with, but even in her mental voice, she wasn't someone I would ever want to know. She's driven, and focused on her trees, and really does NOT connect with people...any of them. I just didn't like her much at all. 

But it isn't all bad with this book. In fact, there is a lot of really good things about it, so let's talk about those...
*I loved the orchard. The visuals were amazing...loved the night with the lanterns under the big one. 
*The cider is almost it's own character in this. I loved the descriptions of Sanna creating the cider blends and how she sees them in color including the art that results. 
*The writing is very lyrical and readable. I love Amy E. Reichert's flowing voice. She has a way of writing that pulls the reader right into the text so you experience the scenes almost as if you were there. 
*The setup with Bass and Isaac was interesting, although heartbreaking. That first shocking line about Isaac's secret had me gasping...and that story line/buildup/suspense lasted almost the entire book. 
*I love Bass's name and the variations on it throughout the book. 

While not wholly a positive review, I did enjoy the overall experience of reading this book. I also feel the need to visit an apple orchard.


I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

No comments: