Tuesday, December 8, 2015

When We Fall by Marquita Valentine

Title: When We Fall
Author: Marquita Valentine
My Rating: B

Genre: Contemporary Romance 
Series: Take the Fall #2
Main Characters: Piper and Jase
Release Date: December 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Links to Purchase:
Sexual Intensity: hot

Story Overview:
In the captivating new novel in Marquita Valentine’s Boys of the South spinoff series—perfect for readers of Abbi Glines and Katy Evans—a small-town sweetheart takes a chance on the bad boy who’s always been her hottest fantasy.

The last time Piper Ross saw her best friend’s sexy older brother, Jase Simmons, he was being taken away in handcuffs. Seven years later, two things haven’t changed: Piper is still head-over-heels in love with him . . . and Forrestville’s chief of police—Piper’s dad—still hates his guts. So when Piper sees a chance to get close to Jase, she makes her move—literally. As his new roommate, and as the office manager of his tattoo shop, Piper won’t be satisfied until Jase knows that she wants to be his.

The quintessential good girl, Piper is pure temptation for Jase. The only reason he’s always kept his distance is because she’s the last person he’d ever want to hurt. But once he realizes that Piper is ready to take the leap, everything just makes sense. Suddenly Jase feels like a new man—until nasty rumors start swirling and Piper’s heartless father stirs up even more trouble. Now Jase must convince Piper that she wasn’t wrong about him . . . because falling in love never felt so right.


My Review:

This is the second book in this series and it features the characters of Piper and Jase who were introduced in the first book. Piper is the perfect, virginal best friend to Rowan while Jase is Rowan's brother who was released after a seven year stint prison for shooting a man (in self-defense.)

Piper has always been in love with Jase, but she was the overweight, shy kid who was 4 years younger than him and then he went to prison at age 19. She never had a chance of him noticing her. At least that's what she thought. But he did notice her, although that didn't stop his wild ways with alcohol, drugs, and women...something that eventually caught up with him. Since he's gotten out of prison, he's tried to stay away from her. She doesn't need his taint, but his need to protect her makes that kind of impossible especially as she's cut herself off from her overbearing family. 

The book is extremely readable. I liked how Piper's confidence grew so much throughout the story and a lot of that was just because Jase is so good with her and building her up. I really liked the two of them together and that they really do bring out the best in one another. I also liked that Piper has dreams of becoming a social worker. Her history with her family creates some interesting back story, although I really, really hated her parents (which is what the author meant to do with them, I'm pretty sure. They're pretty despicable people.

Despite Piper's virginal beginnings, you don't have to worry about the steam levels in this one. There is plenty of hot, sexy times in this book. In fact, toward the end I kind of got where I was skimming them. (Although I did like the detail the author added in with Piper's medical condition and how the sex affected her. The scene in the doctor's office was great...another reason to completely fall in love with Jase.)

My one complaint about this book is that, while it was very engaging and entertaining to read, it didn't feel like I was reading anything new. In fact, about 20% into the book, I went and double-checked my Goodreads account to make sure I hadn't already read this one. Yes, it feels that much like several other books I've already read. That doesn't mean it's bad...just not anything new. The conflict is a well-used trope...bad boy criminal who isn't good for the rich princess.

But even with that being said, I'm anxious to know who will feature in the final book in this series. I can't find that information online and I don't even have a guess. Never mind, I just found it on Amazon...Hunter, the cop who's introduced in this story, and Evangeline...YES!! Okay, now I'm bouncing in my seat ready for the next installment.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

1 comment:

Bostick Communications said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.