Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Calling the Play by Samantha Kane

Title: Calling the Play
Author: Samantha Kane 
My Rating: B+

Genre: Erotic Romance
Series: Birmingham Rebels #2
Main Characters: Tyler, Randi, and Brian
Release Date: December 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Links to Purchase:

Sexual Intensity: erotic

Story Overview:
Samantha Kane’s Birmingham Rebels series—perfect for fans of Shayla Black and Lexi Blake—proves that three’s never a crowd . . . at least not for the hard-bodied football all-stars who give teamwork a sexy twist.

Quarterback Tyler Oakes plays hard and parties even harder. That reckless lifestyle nearly derailed his career, and now the Birmingham Rebels are Ty’s last shot at football immortality. But staying out of trouble can take its toll—especially for a man with a taste for girls andguys. Because curvy, gorgeous Randi McInish is just the kind of trouble he’d like to get into.

A tough-as-nails undercover cop, Randi meets her match in Ty. After they get wrapped up together in a drug bust and a high-speed car chase, Randi’s eager to take the notorious bad boy for another wild ride. Turns out Ty already has something in mind. When he introduces her to the Rebels’ sexy new quarterback coach, things start heating up a little too fast for Randi.

Brian Mason coached Ty in college, and boy do they have history together. With Brian taking control on the field and in the bedroom, they were an unstoppable team. But Brian, blindsided by love, ran from his feelings for Ty. He won’t let Randi make the same mistake. Both men agree they need more than each other. They want a woman they can share. And when they make a pleasure play for Randi, all three are sure to score.

Calling the Play is intended for mature audiences.


My Review:
I read this book immediately after reading the first in the series, Broken Play. The books are very similar in their overall story line...a menage featuring a coach with one of the players. But they differed greatly in a lot of the minor details that made a big impact...mainly in the three main characters. 

First, let me say that the opening scene between Randi and Tyler was brilliant. I thought it was funny, and action-packed, and had a lot of heat and details that set up the story line brilliantly. And I'll admit that beginning happy feeling carried me a long way through the story because when the story first began I wasn't sure that I liked Randi or Brian all that much.

Note: those feelings about those characters shifted a lot for me throughout this book...and that isn't normal for me. Randi is tough just in that she's an in-your-face, take-no-bs kind of girl. She's a cop and she's hard as nails and she has no desire to feel ANY emotions... that sometimes makes her hard to like. Brian on the other hand started off as feeling really wishy-washy to me. I will say that I liked him more and more throughout the book. By the end he was my favorite character out of the three.

But by the end of the book I was all-in with all three of the characters and their commitment to one another. I love how their relationship evolved. That scene with Randi in the office after her break-down was just a beautiful show of how they work as a triad and it really melted my heart. By the end I was cheering and loving them all together. For me, it was a great character and story arc.

And I do love this team and how they are the bad-boys of football. That made the story featuring Tyler as the quarterback even more fun since he's the heart and soul of the team. The team dynamic is interesting especially since they have so many outcasts...and wow, a lot of them are really kinky. I kind of like that about them, and am looking at several more stories to come...Tom and Danny??

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

No comments: