Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Should've Said No by Tracy March


Title: Should've Said No
Author: Tracy March 
My Rating: B

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series: Thistle Bend #1
Main Characters: Lindsey and Carden
Release Date: November 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Links to Purchase:
Sexual Intensity: hot

Story Overview:

Welcome to Thistle Bend! Perfect for fans of Susan Mallery, this charming series debut introduces a small town where old secrets are revealed—and wounded hearts are opened to new love.

A year after being laid off from the Smithsonian, Lindsey Simms says yes to a job offer as curator of a heritage museum in Thistle Bend, Colorado (population 1,519). It could be worse—and it is. Because the new museum has escalated a dispute between the Karlssons, Lindsey’s relatives, and the Crenshaws, a blood feud which goes way back to a land deal that changed the fortunes of both families. Trying to stay objective, Lindsey can’t tell anyone about her conflict of interest—especially not the ruggedly handsome handyman fixing up her cabin, who seems to be keeping secrets of his own.

Although he’s the executive director of the family trust and one of Colorado’s most eligible bachelors, Carden Crenshaw prefers getting his hands dirty in town and on his sprawling ranch. Staying busy has given him an excuse not to risk heartbreak, but getting to know the beautiful “museum lady” makes him reconsider. Little does he know, the heat between them will only add fuel to the fire—unless this unlikely couple can prove they’re lovers, not fighters.
 
My Review:
This book had an interesting premise. The small Colorado town is setting up a new museum and Lindsey is a museum expert who's been brought in to tackle the job. But the job is much more than she expects since she's expected to unravel the town's family feud that's gone on for the last 150 years. But it's a family feud that involves HER family...it's just that only three people in town know that...Lindsey and her great aunt and uncle. 

Of course, in a love story trope as old as Romeo and Juliet, you know that the hero is going to come from the family on the opposite side of the family feud. Lindsey is feeling pressure from all sides to track down the correct details of what really happened so long ago. 

There were things that I loved about this book:
*the setting was pure perfection. Such gorgeous imagery in this book especially the wildflowers. I've spent a bit of time in the mountains of Colorado and after reading this book, I felt like I'd been for a quick visit back to the state.
*Carden...I thought it was great that he acts as the town's handyman especially since he's also part of the town's richest, most powerful family. It made him seem more real and down to earth.
*I loved the elderly ladies (and now can't remember their names...Milly and ???). They were awesome and I loved the slightly paranormal/magical aspect they added to the story. There wasn't any of that actually happening, but they had that kind of magical air to them like they knew so much more than everyone else.

At times, the story seemed to lag a little bit, but I think a lot of that was simple repetition. Lindsey is searching for answers and not having much luck...for weeks. She needs that to earn her a way back to DC. I get that, but it was maybe stated in the book a few dozen too many times. Overall, that was a tiny niggle, but the repetition did slow down the story and took me out of the book quite a few times.

Note: the resolution for the controversy...I never would have guessed that and LOVED the real story. That was a serious highlight of this book. Brilliantly written by the author.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

No comments: