Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Off Limits by Kelly Jamieson

Title: Off Limits
Author: Kelly Jamieson
My Rating: B+

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series: Aces #1.5
Main Characters: Jenna and Andrew
Release Date: November 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Links to Purchase:
Sexual Intensity: hot

Story Overview:
Perfect for fans of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo, Kelly Jamieson’s charming holiday novella kicks off a brand-new series featuring the hunky hockey stars of the Chicago Aces.
 
The Christmas season always puts a smile on Jenna McFadden’s face. Even though she’s bringing a boyfriend home for the first time, inside she’s dying to see Andrew. Years ago, when the McFaddens took the troubled teen into their home, Jenna had to keep her blazing-hot crush a secret. And now that he’s playing pro hockey for the NHL’s Chicago Aces, nothing’s changed. With his wide shoulders and taut muscles, Andrew’s the most tempting package in the house . . . one that Jenna’s dying to unwrap.

Andrew Ross just can’t make a play for Jenna. Her dad and brothers wouldn’t approve, and he could never betray the trust of the wonderful people who treated him like family when he lost his own. That’s what makes the holidays so hard. Whether Jenna’s skating with Andrew on a frozen pond or sitting on his lap while he plays Santa, she’s pushing all their boundaries—and there’s only so much a man can take. Andrew knows that she’s off-limits. But something deep down tells him that Jenna’s heart is the one prize he simply has to win.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.
 

My Review:
Okay, Andrew is not Jenna's step-brother, but I think he's close enough that this could fall under that step-brother trope. I haven't read that trope yet, but I've been fascinated by it so this was a good introduction to it. 

Andrew came to live with Jenna's family when he was 16 and she was 14. He was told then that she was off-limits and he was so grateful to this family that's taken him in, he's tried to respect that this whole time...with one weekend where he slipped in college. Both he and Jenna agreed then that it was a mistake. She realized he didn't want to risk his new family for her.

Since then, he's gone on to become a NHL superstar...and she's languishing in an accounting firm with a boring accounting boyfriend. This Christmas is the first real time they've spent together since that fateful weekend in college because Jenna has gotten very good at avoiding Andrew, knowing she can never have him. 

I thought this was a great story. I thoroughly enjoyed the way the author set up the beginning of the story with the family at Christmas with everyone home. That worked for me and I found the backstory between Andrew and Jenna as completely enjoyable and believable. My only real complaint is that I would have liked to have seen more of the hockey aspect...just because I love the Aces team. But there are glimpses of them. As it is the book is a great holiday read with a touch of our beloved hockey team added to the end.

And I just LOVED the way that everything played out in the end. All the reactions were so perfect. I was just grinning ear to ear when the book finished because of the perfect way everything was finished out. I loved the chemistry between Jenna and Andrew and it made for an incredible story. And the overall story was a good one. And now I can definitively say...I like this trope.

I highly recommend both this book and this series. It's a good one...especially if you love hockey...and in the case of this novella...a good holiday read.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

No comments: