Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Major Misconduct by Kelly Jamieson

Title: Major Misconduct
Author: Kelly Jamieson
My Rating: A

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series: Aces Hockey #1
Main Characters: Lovey and Marc
Release Date: October 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Links to Purchase:
Sexual Intensity: hot

Story Overview:
In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.

My Review:
Yep, I'll admit it...I'm a sports romance whore. There are not many of these that I don't enjoy, if not absolutely love. This one was one of the ones that I love, and that's kind of surprising because for a while I wasn't too sure about this heroine. 

Lovey is spoiled. She grew up in the shadow of her superstar, super-talented, NHL bound brother, Duncan. As a result, her family tried to make it up to her by letting her have her way when she wanted something bad enough. All of them cater to her, including her brother. But part of the issue is Lovey's personality. She's one of those genuine people that everyone likes...she's fun, she's vivacious, and she's tenacious...which serves her well. But for her brother, it makes it hard for him (and the rest of her family) to take her seriously. She's trying to change that perception and is starting a new career and life in Chicago, where her brother lives. Until she settles into her life there, she's living with him and the Ace's Captain, Marc.

And then there's Marc. He's the Captain of the team for a reason. He's completely focused on the hockey team and trying to get them to winning again. He's also good friends with Duncan, who's told him that Lovey is off-limits. No matter how combustible their chemistry is, he has to respect that. But I did mention that Lovey always gets her way, right? Yeah, she wants Marc and doesn't plan to let her brother dictate her sex life. No way. No how. 

There were so many things to love about this book. First of all is Lovey. While she obviously has some flaws, I loved her just as much as everyone in the book does. She's just one of those people. Add to that, I really respect the business she's building. I loved the author's descriptions of what she was doing. It made me want to start back up my old blog that I used to have once upon a time and go out and take more photos, appreciate more pretty things. I like how she's creating this whole new business model and everyone doubts her. But she knows she can do it. She's determined and professional and I loved that about her. 

And of course this is all set within the world of hockey and the NHL. I loved that. I do love sports themed books and every time I read a hockey book, I swear I'm going to start watching more. If only I could convince my husband that this would be a really good idea. Maybe I'll have to start watching by myself. 

It was a good book and definitely one I recommend. It was a GREAT start to this series and I can't wait to read more about the Aces hockey team.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

No comments: