Sunday, August 2, 2015

A Pound of Flesh by Sophie Jackson

Title: A Pound of Flesh
Author: Sophie Jackson
My Rating: B+

Genre: Contemporary Romance 
Series: A Pound of Flesh #1
Main Characters: Wes and Kat
Release Date: June 2015
Publisher: Gallery
Links to Purchase:
Sexual Intensity: spicy

Story Overview:
Lose your heart to your new bad boy book boyfriend. Wes Carter - sexy, edgy, behind bars, with emotional scars as permanent as the ink on his skin, just waiting to be healed by love...

Fans of Samantha Young, Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jamie McGuire, Katy Evans and Prison Break will find this powerful love story utterly addictive and unforgettable.

Their love is forbidden. But won't be denied... Can true love heal the deepest scars?

For Kat Lane, teaching inmates at a New York prison is her way of upholding the legacy of her beloved father, murdered fifteen years ago. But when new student Wes Carter walks into her classroom, she's shaken by the strength of her attraction to him. Carter is as handsome as he is dangerous, as mysterious as he is quick-witted - and he ensures people keep their distance. Yet vibrant Kat bypasses his defences and challenges him to reveal the real man behind the intimidating reputation. As their emotional barriers crumble, their inescapable but forbidden feelings cannot be ignored. But will Kat's discovery of Carter's role on the night her father died force them apart...or bind their hearts for ever?

A Pound of Flesh is a tale of loyalty, redemption and all-consuming love against the odds, introducing an irresistible bad boy hero...

My Review:
I received this book for review too late for me to review it when it was released, but I heard great things about it, so it's been in my must-read-as-soon-as-possible pile. And it was worth the wait. I did enjoy the book. 

I love books that are all about fate and this one was a great one for that. I do love ex-con books, but wasn't sure how this one would go over since the two get involved WHILE he is in prison... but then there's that connection of fate that made it work for me.

And I have to admit that I love Carter's story...he's certainly not your typical convict. I wish that the story had gone just a bit more into his back story and how he ended up along this path of crime. His back story was touched upon in how messed up his family left him, but there has to be more to how he ended up as a criminal. Maybe we will get more of that story in Max's book, who happens to be Carter's best friend and the reason that Carter is in prison...this time.

And then there's Kat. There were a few issues with her story that I had problems with, but overall I did like her. Her connection with her father was beautiful, especially in how it all ties into her connection with Carter. I hated her mother and could not deal with how completely inflexible she is. I know that's the point, but still...ugh.

While the story was good and I enjoyed the characters, I did have some problems with the writing. There is a LOT of head-hopping within the characters POV. I don't think most people would even notice, but that's one of the issues with being a writer...I've been taught not to do that, so I notice it big-time when others do it and it can make for distracted reading. 

BUT, the story is good enough that I could ignore that for the most part. It's a great character driven story, and I'm definitely excited to read more in the series. It was an unlikely love story and I love the creativity of that. I'd definitely recommend it.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

No comments: