Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Take the Fall by Marquita Valentine


Title: Take the Fall
Author: Marquita Valentine
My Rating: A

Genre: New Adult Romance 
Series: Take the Fall #1
Main Characters: Seth and Rowan
Release Date: July 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Links to Purchase:
Sexual Intensity: hot

Story Overview:
Fans of Abbi Glines and Katy Evans will adore Take the Fall, the first spinoff novel from Marquita Valentine’s New York Times bestselling Boys of the South series. In this emotional new romance, passions run hot as a rugged, brooding Marine rekindles an old flame. 

As a teenager, Seth O’Connor went to jail for a crime he had nothing to do with. He took the fall to protect the girl he loved, but the cruel realities of prison hardened him. After doing his time, Seth shuts her out and enlists in the Marines—until his grandmother’s funeral forces him to come home and face Rowan Simmons once again. The woman she’s become puts all his high-school memories to shame, and Seth wants her more than ever. Can he be honest about why he denied her for so long?

After Seth pushed her away, Rowan swore that no man would ever hurt her again. But the boy who broke her heart has become a sexy Marine, capable of fulfilling her every desire—and now that he’s back in town, old feelings are simmering to a boil. Rowan wants to stay strong, even as her body surrenders to his expert touch. She only hopes that by taking him back, she can finally help heal the wounds that drove them apart.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

My Review:
Three lives ruined just because they were at the wrong place at the wrong time. That's what happened to Jase, Seth, and Rowan. Yes, they should not have been doing the illegal street racing, but none of them deserved what happened. Jase and Seth sent to prison for attempted murder, Rowan left alone. It left all three of them with heartbreaking scars.

But now Seth is home after a required seven year stint in the Marines. War taught him what was really important...the girl who gave him everything including her unwavering love that he left at home. But Rowan is seven years past giving Seth a second chance. No more. He won't have the chance to break her heart again.

This book is heartbreaking....just because none of these kids deserved what happened to them. They did a stupid thing, but they sure never planned to hurt anyone. (As a mother, this is the kind of story that terrifies me...tiny choices can have such HUGE repercussions that hurt for the rest of your life.)

For Rowan, she'd always had a hard edge, but that's become even worse in the last 9 years. She's hardened her heart and although she would have done anything to have Seth come back to her at one point in time, it's too late now. She can't forgive him or open her heart to him again. I loved how strong she is. She's gone through an awful time, but for those that have earned it, she maintains her complete loyalty. She would have done anything for Seth's grandmother, her mechanics, and her bff, Piper. But Seth is not among that list anymore. 

But the emotions and chemistry they had doesn't just disappear, no matter Rowan wishes that were so. And Seth is not going to be put off. He wants her heart back and fully plans to get it. 

Seth had his own issues after prison and then the forced Marines. He didn't have any choices about leaving Rowan, and he was so angry and young, so he pushed her away and forced her out of his life. But now he's a full adult with the perspective that gives him and knows that he made a huge mistake. 

No one really dealt with what all happened to them that night. They were all forced to Take the Fall...and that anger about the unfairness of that has to go somewhere. Unfortunately for these two, they directed it at one another. Watching them learn how to forgive and forget is what is at the heart of this novel. There is a huge character development arc for both Rowan and Seth...and it turned out beautiful. 

Now I'm ready for Jase's story, but I have a feeling he's going to be a harder nut to crack because he and Piper are very different people who have come from such different circumstances. Already in this book, it was painful to watch them together. Lots of angst to come...

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

No comments: