Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Never Been Kissed by Molly O'Keefe



Title: Never Been Kissed
Author: Molly O'Keefe
My Rating: A


Genre: Contemporary Romance 
Series: Boys of Bishop #2
Main Characters: Ashley and Brody
Release Date: June 2014
Publisher: Bantam
Links to Purchase:
Sexual Intensity: hot

Story Overview:

Perfect for readers of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Rachel Gibson, Molly O’Keefe’s second novel in her exciting new series—The Boys of Bishop—features an irresistible romance and unforgettable characters in a page-turning story that delivers equal parts emotion and humor . . . with a little edge to boot.

As the daughter of a wealthy politician, Ashley Montgomery has had enough of her parents’ expectations for her future and is going her own way, volunteering to work at a refugee camp in Africa. But her act of charity turns dangerous when she takes a boat trip and is abducted by Somali pirates. Enter Brody Baxter, who was a bodyguard for the Montgomery family ten years ago and doesn’t think twice about coming to Ashley’s rescue. Handsome and tough, Brody has always done what needed to be done. So he swoops in, saves Ashley, and brings her to a place where she can rest and recuperate without the glare of the press and her demanding family: Brody’s small hometown of Bishop, Arkansas. But Ashley soon realizes that she’s not the only one in need of healing.

Holed up with Ashley in a tiny apartment over his brother’s bar in Bishop, Brody is tempted and torn in ways he never anticipated. Beautiful Ashley, vibrant despite her ordeal, fearless enough to love him beyond his wall of self-punishment, is now determined to save him. But with a little faith and a lot of love, they just may find happiness in each others’ arms.

My Review:
I am really enjoying this new series by Molly O'Keefe. This book starts out in a third world country where Brody is working bodyguard detail for a corrupt senator and not real thrilled with his job. While there Harrison Montgomery finds him needing his help to save his kidnapped sister Ashley. Ten years ago, Brody worked a security detail for the Montgomery family that went very wrong...in that 17 yo Ashley fell in love with Brody. He walked away from that job and hasn't seen her since. Of course, he's not going to turn away from her now.

The set-up on this one was great. Brody doesn't want to admit he has feelings for Ashley. In fact, the world works better for Brody if he doesn't have feelings for anyone. But he can't walk away from her when she asks for his help so he takes her the one place he knows she'll be safe...home to Bishop. The one place where he knows HE won't be safe. His family make him feel...something that isn't acceptable in Brody's world. My heart broke for Brody...for the boy who got crushed over and over; for the man he became who learned how to protect himself from ever getting crushed again. Seriously, I was bawling during some of those scenes with his father. 

On the flip side is Ashley, who seems to attach herself emotionally to every sad-story that comes through. She grew up in a household lacking any emotional connection, but with all the power and wealth possible. She should be a spoiled little brat, but she's not...not even a little bit. Naive, yes, but she has such a good heart. No wonder Brody can't resist her. She's like a flame and he's the moth. He can't stay away although he knows that because of who he is, he will get burned. 

In the midst of all that is this little town of Bishop, Arkansas with Brody's brother and dad. Sean, his brother, another character that simply needed a hug. He wants to connect to Brody so badly. Then there's his love interest, Cora. Their scenes made me laugh especially the early ones where the sexual tension had them literally spitting at one another. 

This was a beautifully constructed story with characters that I loved. The story is rich, and emotional, and so beautiful in the end with romance. I loved it...every single bit of it. 

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

No comments: