Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Between the Sheets by Molly O'Keefe



Title: Between the Sheets
Author: Molly O'Keefe
My Rating: A


Genre: Contemporary Romance 
Series: Boys of Bishop #3
Main Characters: Ty and Shelby
Release Date: July 2014
Publisher: Bantam
Links to Purchase:
Sexual Intensity: hot

Story Overview:

Perfect for readers of Susan Mallery and Rachel Gibson,Between the Sheets is Molly O’Keefe’s final book in the Boys of Bishop trilogy, featuring a sizzling romance between a sexy motorcycle bad boy and the girl next door who can’t resist him. 

After years of running, Wyatt Svenson has now parked himself in Bishop, Arkansas, trying to do the right thing and parent a son he didn’t even know he had until recently. Over six feet tall and packed with muscles and power, Ty likes to get his hands dirty, fixing his motorcycle at night and keeping his mind away from the mistakes he’s made. Then his pretty neighbor shows up on his driveway, doesn’t bother to introduce herself, and complains about the noise. First impression? She should loosen up. Funny that she turns out to be his son’s elementary school art teacher—and the only one willing to help his troubled boy. Ty needs her. In more ways than one.

Though Shelby Monroe is safe in her structured life, she is drawn to Ty’s bad-boy edge and rugged sexuality. What if she just lets it all go: her worries about her mother, her fear of heartbreak, and her tight self control? What if she grabs Ty and takes a ride on the wild side? “What if” becomes reality—intense, exhilarating . . . and addictive. But Ty wants more than a secret affair. He wants it all with Shelby. But will she take a chance and open her heart? Ty is determined to convince Shelby to take the biggest risk of her life: on him.


My Review:
Sigh...poor Shelby. We met her in the first book in this series where she was humiliated on national TV over her sex life. Life hasn't gotten any better for her since. Now she's trying to care for her mother who is sinking further and further into Alzheimer's and when she's in an 'episode', she channels Shelby's abusive father. This is the ultimate irony since her mother was the one who spent so many years trying to protect Shelby from his religious fanatical wrath. 

Shelby has always had to hide her true nature, because she is really very passionate, but that doesn't fit in with her staid, school-teacher persona. The one person who gets to see that side of her is her new neighbor, Ty. But he also sees too much of everything else too and sees that she's barely hanging on by a thread. 

Ty is dealing with his own issues with his new son, Casey, who's having a REALLY difficult time being normal and not acting out. They are both new in town, but don't have that support system of friends to make the transition easier, especially at first when everything seems to be going wrong. 

So much about this story was excellent. Ty and Shelby are both caregivers struggling to figure out their responsibilities. For Ty, he's a new father to a 11 yo boy who is facing a mountain of his own struggles after the way his irresponsible mother raised him. This is a book full of characters who are so lost and hurting so much. Everything about the book was good, but the story line that I loved the most involved the scenes between Ty and his son, Casey. This just goes to show how amazing that story line was because when I read a romance novel, my focus is the romance, but I loved that kid. I loved getting to read the book in his point of view and just how confused, and hurt, and scared he is. I wanted to wrap him up in a blanket and keep him safe from the world. And it was heartbreaking to watch him from Ty's perspective, because Ty could see that too, but Casey refused to let him in. Heart.Breaking.

Then this is not something that I usually talk about in contemporary novel reviews, but the sex in this one. Wow! This book is HOT!! I want an art barn just because the visuals of these sex scenes in that setting were so erotic and so visually gorgeous and romantic. Even when the characters were sizzlingly erotic. I'm serious...the sexual exploits in this book are incredibly hot and well-written. 

The book comes full circle in that the final climactic scene takes place between Casey and Evie, Shelby's mom. I thought that was an interesting twist and really did love it all...even the way it ended for these two characters. The scene was shocking and harsh, but so reflective of so much of the emotions that went on throughout the entire book. I highly recommend this one!

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

No comments: